Loading Events

The Red Jacket Awards Ceremony 2020


The Buffalo History Museum will be hosting a virtual event, the Red Jacket Awards Ceremony, to honor this year’s recipients of the Red Jacket, Owen B. Augspurger,  and Daniel B. Niederlander Awards.

Details regarding the ceremony, which will follow COVID-19 protocols set forth by the NYS Department of Health, and ticket information will be available soon.

Corporate sponsorship opportunities are available. For more information on sponsorships or the ceremony, contact Britt Call, Donor & Corporate Relations Manager, at (716) 873-9644 ext. 344 or bcall@buffalohistory.org.


The Red Jacket Award – Jake & Katie Schneider

The Red Jacket Award is given annually “in recognition of quiet, continued, unbroken devotion to civic progress.” In 1792, President George Washington presented Red Jacket with the medal after which the Museum’s award is modeled.

Owen B. Augspurger Award – John Edens

The Owen B. Augspurger Award, established in 1974, is presented to an individual for outstanding service to the cause of local history.

Daniel B. Niederlander Award – Explore Buffalo

The Daniel B. Niederlander Award is presented to a local education, cultural, or heritage organization for outstanding, high caliber programming.