

Owen B. Augspurger Award

The Owen B. Augspurger Award was established in 1974 in honor of Owen B. Augspurger (1913-1969), a former History Museum president, and a Red Jacket awardee (1969). The award is presented to an individual for outstanding service to the cause of local history.

The following criteria should guide you in the nomination of awardees:

- That the activities supporting the nomination shall have been performed during a significant period of time, unless the committee finds unusual extenuating circumstances.
- That activities related to local history may include publication of books, articles, or pamphlets; service in a historical agency; reporting of local history through the news media; collection of historical data or objects and provision for their public enjoyment; research and writing leading to broadening the knowledge of local history in Erie County; and development of significant local history programs.

Nominees are not to be told they are under consideration.

Nominations must be submitted online and are due by 11:59 p.m. on Friday, March 6, 2020. <u>Click here</u> to nominate. If you have any questions regarding the online nomination tool or process, please contact Kimberly Luangpakdy, director of advancement, at (716) 873-9644 ext. 322 or at kluangpakdy@buffalohistory.org.

OWEN B. AUGSPURGER AWARD RECIPIENT LIST 1974 John W. Horton 1998 Thomas E. Leary 1975 Roy E. Nagle (posthumous) Elizabeth C. Sholes 1977 Olaf W. Shelgren, Jr. 1999 Daniel I. Larkin 1978 Austin M. Fox 2000 Christopher Densmore 1979 Richard C. Brown 2001 Jack Quinan 1980 Joseph A. Grande, Ph.D. 2003 Theodore L. Lownie 1981 Lester W. Smith 2004 Dr. V. Roger Lalli 2005 Fred R. Whaley, Jr. 1982 John W. Percy 1983 Edward E. Godfrey Lillian William, Ph.D. 1984 Gen. Brainard Prescott 2006 Francis R. Kowsky, Ph.D. 2007 Joseph A. Grande, Ph.D. 1985 Monroe Fordham, Ph.D. 1986 Barbara Brandt John C. Mohawk, Ph.D. 2009 Mark Goldman, Ph.D. 1987 John Conlin 2010 Charles A. LaChiusa 1988 Lillian Geiger 1989 James Keysa 2011 Douglas Kohler 1990 Mike Vogel 2012 Christopher Hawley 1991 Msgr. Walter O. Kern 2013 Madeline Davis 1992 William B. Hoyt (posthumous) Dr. Edwin A. Mirand 1993 Andrea Shaw (posthumous) 2014 Raymond Massey 1994 Joseph Overfield Molly Quackenbush 1995 Henry H. Baxter 2015 Doug DeCroix 1996 Milton Rogovin 2016 Jennifer Liber Raines 1997 Scott Eberle 2017 Dennis Galucki David A. Gerber 2018 Martin Wachadlo 2019 William B. Koch, posthumously

updated 2/18/2020

