

## Owen B. Augspurger Award

The Owen B. Augspurger Award was established in 1974 in honor of Owen B. Augspurger (1913-1969), a former History Museum president, and a Red Jacket awardee (1969). The award is presented to an individual for outstanding service to the cause of local history.

The following criteria should guide you in the nomination of awardees:

- That the activities supporting the nomination shall have been performed during a significant period of time, unless the committee finds unusual extenuating circumstances.
- That activities related to local history may include publication of books, articles, or pamphlets; service in a historical agency; reporting of local history through the news media; collection of historical data or objects and provision for their public enjoyment; research and writing leading to broadening the knowledge of local history in Erie County; and development of significant local history programs.

Nominees are not to be told they are under consideration.

Nominations must be submitted online and are due by 11:59 p.m. on Friday, March 5, 2021. <u>Click here</u> to nominate. If you have any questions regarding the online nomination tool or process, please contact Kimberly Luangpakdy, director of advancement, at (716) 873-9644 ext. 322 or at kluangpakdy@buffalohistory.org.

## OWEN B. AUGSPURGER AWARD RECIPIENT LIST

1974 John W. Horton

1975 Roy E. Nagle (posthumous)

1977 Olaf W. Shelgren, Jr.

1978 Austin M. Fox

1979 Richard C. Brown

1980 Joseph A. Grande, Ph.D.

1981 Lester W. Smith

1982 John W. Percy

1983 Edward E. Godfrey

1984 Gen. Brainard Prescott

1985 Monroe Fordham, Ph.D.

1986 Barbara Brandt

1987 John Conlin

1988 Lillian Geiger

1989 James Keysa

1990 Mike Vogel

1991 Msgr. Walter O. Kern

1992 William B. Hoyt (posthumous)

1993 Andrea Shaw (posthumous)

1994 Joseph Overfield

1995 Henry H. Baxter

1996 Milton Rogovin

1997 Scott Eberle

David A. Gerber

1998 Thomas E. Leary

Elizabeth C. Sholes

1999 Daniel I. Larkin

2000 Christopher Densmore

2001 Jack Quinan

2003 Theodore L. Lownie

2004 Dr. V. Roger Lalli

2005 Fred R. Whaley, Jr.

Lillian S. Williams, Ph.D.

2006 Francis R. Kowsky, Ph.D.

2007 Joseph A. Grande, Ph.D.

John C. Mohawk, Ph.D.

2009 Mark Goldman, Ph.D.

2010 Charles A. LaChiusa

2011 Douglas Kohler

2012 Christopher Hawley

2013 Madeline Davis

Dr. Edwin A. Mirand

2014 Raymond Massey

Molly Quackenbush

2015 Doug DeCroix

2016 Jennifer Liber Raines

2017 Dennis Galucki

2018 Martin Wachadlo

2019 William B. Koch, posthumously

2020 John A. Edens



## Owen B. Augspurger Award

All nominations must be submitted <u>online here</u>. Please note: the online software does not allow you to save and return to edit your application later. You may find it beneficial to work on your application in a separate document and upload your responses at once.

## 1. Nominee Contact Information

Nominee Name

Nominee Occupation/Job title

Company

Nominee Address

Nominee City/Town

Nominee State/Province

Nominee ZIP/Postal Code

Nominee Email

Nominee Phone Number

**Question Title** 

- 2. Your relationship to the nominee (ie, professional colleague, volunteer colleague, friend)
- 3. Please enter your contact information (in case we have questions about your nomination)

Your Name

Company

Your Address

Your City/Town

Your State/Province

Your ZIP/Postal Code

Your Email Address

Your Phone Number

**Ouestion Title** 

- 4. Please provide a documentation of work and/or research (publications, exhibits, videos, blogs, web sites), articles, research studies, or pamphlets related to Western New York history authored by the candidate.
- 5. Please describe the candidate's area(s) of research or study.
- 6. Has the candidate developed public programs on local history? Please describe the type of program and audience outreach.