

Owen B. Augspurger Award

The Owen B. Augspurger Award was established in 1974 in honor of Owen B. Augspurger (1913-1969), a former History Museum president, and a Red Jacket awardee (1969). The award is presented to an individual for outstanding service to the cause of local history.

The following criteria should guide you in the nomination of awardees:

- That the activities supporting the nomination shall have been performed during a significant period of time, unless the committee finds unusual extenuating circumstances.
- That activities related to local history may include publication of books, articles, or pamphlets; service in a historical agency; reporting of local history through the news media; collection of historical data or objects and provision for their public enjoyment; research and writing leading to broadening the knowledge of local history in Erie County; and development of significant local history programs.

Please note: this software does not permit you to save and return to edit your nomination later. You may find it beneficial to work on your application in a separate document and upload your responses at once.

Nominees are not to be told they are under consideration.

Nominations are due by 11:59pm on Friday, February 28, 2025.

If you have any questions on the online tool or nominations process, please contact Katie McIntyre, Director of Advancement, kmcintyre@buffalohistory.org, 716.873.9644, ext. 344





Owen B. Augspurger Award

All nominations must be submitted online here. Please note: the online software does not allow you to save and return to edit your application later. You may find it beneficial to work on your application in a separate document and upload your responses at once.

1. Nominee Contact Information

Nominee Name Nominee Occupation/Job title Company Nominee Address Nominee City/Town Nominee State/Province Nominee ZIP/Postal Code Nominee Email

Nominee Phone Number

Question Title

- 2. Your relationship to the nominee (ie, professional colleague, volunteer colleague, friend)
- 3. Please enter your contact information (in case we have questions about your nomination)

Your Name Company

Your Address

Your City/Town

Your State/Province

Your ZIP/Postal Code

Your Email Address

Your Phone Number

Question Title

- 4. Please provide a documentation of work and/or research (publications, exhibits, videos, blogs, web sites), articles, research studies, or pamphlets related to Western New York history authored by the candidate.
- 5. Please describe the candidate's area(s) of research or study.
- 6. Has the candidate developed public programs on local history? Please describe the type of program and audience outreach.

OWEN B. AUGSPURGER AWARD RECIPIENTS





THE BUFFALO HISTORY MUSEUM Owen B. Augspurger Award

2024 Tyler Bagwell
2023 Thomas Reigstad
Melissa Dunlap
2022 Angela Keppel
Paul McDonnell
2021 Lillion Batchelor
Shonnie Finnegan
2020 John A. Edens
2019 William B. Koch, posthumously
2018 Martin Wachadlo
2017 Dennis Galucki
2016 Jennifer Liber Raines
2015 Doug DeCroix
2014 Raymond Massey
Molly Quackenbush
2013 Madeline Davis
Dr. Edwin A. Mirand
2012 Christopher Hawley
2011 Douglas Kohler
2010 Charles A. LaChiusa
2009 Mark Goldman, Ph.D.
2007 Joseph A. Grande, Ph.D.
John C. Mohawk, Ph.D.
2006 Francis R. Kowsky, Ph.D.
2005 Fred R. Whaley, Jr.
Lillian S. Williams, Ph.D. 2004 Dr. V. Roger Lalli
2004 Dr. V. Roger Lam 2003 Theodore L. Lownie
2001 Jack Quinan
2000 Christopher Densmore
1999 Daniel I. Larkin
1998 Thomas E. Leary
Elizabeth C. Sholes
1997 Scott Eberle
David A. Gerber
1996 Milton Rogovin
1995 Henry H. Baxter
1994 Joseph Overfield
1993 Andrea Shaw (posthumous)
1992 William B. Hoyt (posthumous)
1991 Msgr. Walter O. Kern
1990 Mike Vogel
1989 James Keysa





1988 Lillian Geiger	
1987 John Conlin	
1986 Barbara Brandt	
1985 Monroe Fordham, Ph.D.	
1984 Gen. Brainard Prescott	
1983 Edward E. Godfrey	
1982 John W. Percy	
1981 Lester W. Smith	
1980 Joseph A. Grande, Ph.D.	
1979 Richard C. Brown	
1978 Austin M. Fox	
1977 Olaf W. Shelgren, Jr.	
1975 Roy E. Nagle (posthumous)	
1974 John W. Horton	