

Established in 1957, The Red Jacket Award is presented by The Buffalo History Museum in recognition of "quiet, continued, unbroken devotion to our civic progress and needs by one who, through such devotion, has thereby enlarged our awareness of our heritage in order that it may be built upon for the enrichment of our future."

The award is named after the renowned orator and Seneca leader, Sagoyewatha, or Red Jacket. In 1792, President George Washington presented Red Jacket with the medal after which our award is modeled. The Red Jacket Medal is one of the most treasured items in our collection and is exhibited in the John R. Oishei Native American Gallery. Nearly seven inches tall, the medal bears symbolic imagery of peaceful coexistence between United States and Native Americans.

The tradition of The Red Jacket Award is inspired by the imperative to continue to acknowledge those who, with steady service, strive to support the connections in our region with our heritage.

<u>Click here</u> to nominate. Nominees are not to be told they are under consideration. Please note: the nomination software does not permit you to save and return to edit your nomination later. You may find it beneficial to work on your application in a separate document and upload your responses at once.

The following should guide you in your nominations:

- Emphasis should be placed on recognition of a continuum of quiet, unbroken devotion to our civic progress that enlarges awareness of our heritage and enriches our community.
- Through community leadership, the nominee makes a positive impact to our social wellbeing, or history is created.
- The award may be given for civic achievement and service in any category.
- Though elected officials may be considered, the award may only be given when the recipient no longer holds elected public office.
- Board members of The Buffalo History Museum will be considered when his/her term of service ends.
- Special consideration and emphasis should be placed on community service and civic contributions outside of the candidate's professional career.

Nominations are due by 11:59pm on Friday, February 28, 2025.

If you have any questions on the online tool or nominations process, please contact Katie McIntyre, Director of Advancement, <u>kmcintyre@buffalohistory.org</u>, 716.873.9644, ext. 344

Nominee Contact Information Nominee Name







Nominee Occupation/Job title Company Nominee Address Nominee City/Town Nominee State/Province Nominee ZIP/Postal Code Nominee Email Nominee Phone Number

1. Years you've known nominee

2. Your relationship to the nominee (i.e. professional colleague, volunteer colleague, friend- be specific).

3. Please list civic organizations (ie, cultural, education/youth, health care, community development) that the nominee has been involved with on a volunteer level. List the nominee's role and year(s) served to the best of your knowledge.

4. Beyond financial contributions, please provide examples of the candidate's demonstrated positive impact to our social well being or historic legacy. How has the nominee exhibited traits of a social philanthropist?

5. Optional: In your own words, why is the nominee worthy of this award?

Your Contact Information Name Occupation/Job title Company Address City/Town State/Province ZIP/Postal Code Email Phone Number

RED JACKET AWARD RECIPIENTS

2024 Scott and Kathy Bieler 2023 Alfred Price (posthumously) Mary Wilson 2022 Shelley Drake





Casimiro Rodriguez 2021 Clifford Bell 2020 Jake & Katie Schneider 2019 Ruth D. Bryant Catherine F. Schweitzer 2018 Holly Augspurger Donaldson Jonathan L. White 2017 Eva M. Doyle 2016 John & Carol Kociela Stanford Lipsey 2015 Burton Notarius (posthumously) Eugene Vukelic 2014 Mary Ann Kresse 2013 James L. Magavern, Esq. Edward F. Walsh, Jr. 2012 Clement & Karen Arrison Thomas R. Beecher, Jr. 2011 Cindy Abbott Letro John N. Walsh, III

2010 Christopher T. Greene Finley R. Greene (posthumously) Wayne D. Wisbaum 2009 Dr. V. Roger Lalli Maryann Saccomando Freedman 2008 JoAnn Falletta Edwin T. Bean, Jr. 2007 Hon. George K. Arthur Herbert Hauptman, Ph.D.

2006 Richard C. Marcus 2005 Hon. John T. Curtin Sister Denise Roche James M. Wadsworth 2004 Arnold B. Gardner Justice Ann T. Mikoll Richard & Karen Penfold 2003 William R. Greiner Hon. John J. LaFalce J. Warren Perry 2002 Robert J.A. Irwin Frank B. Mesiah 2001 Sue S. Gardner Kevin P. Gaughan 1999 Calvin Rand **Charles Rand Penney**

1998 D. Bruce & Gail Johnstone 1997 William G. Gisel 1996 Joan Bozer 1995 David W. Rumsey Robert G. Wilmers 1994 Max B.E. Clarkson William M.E. Clarkson 1993 Jesse E. Nash, Jr. Mary Kent-Prentice 1992 Robert J. Kresse Robert L. Wilson 1991 Edward F. Walsh





John N. Walsh, Jr. 1990 Paul A. Schoellkopf, Jr. Margaret G. Swift 1989 Robert D. Fernbach, Sr. 1988 Robert E. Rich, Sr. 1987 John W. Koessler Paul J. Koessler, Sr. 1986 Seymour Knox III Northrup Knox 1985 Father James Demske 1984 Cecilia Evans Taylor 1983 Manly Fleischmann 1982 Ralph Loew 1981 Peter G. Economou 1980 Frank G. Evans & Lydia T. Wright 1979 Elisabeth L. Petri 1978 Robert B. Adam 1977 Mason O. Damon 1976 Katherine & Franz T. Stone 1975 William C. Baird 1974 Julia B. Reinstein 1973 Frank A. Sedita 1972 Charles H. Diefendorf 1971 Edwin F. Jaeckle 1970 Harold L. Olmsted

1969 Charles Desmond Owen B. Augspurger 1968 Julius W. Pratt 1967 George F. Phillips 1966 Alfred Kirchhofer 1965 Fenton M. Parke 1964 Dr. Clayton W. Green 1963 Julian Park

1962 George Forman Goodyear Seymour Knox II 1961 Jane Keeler 1960 Welles V. Moot 1959 Hon. John Lord O'Brian 1958 Charles Burchfield 1957 Roy E. Nagle



