2021 Nomination Timeline

Each fall, The Buffalo History Museum recognizes individuals and organizations for their contributions to our community through the Red Jacket, Daniel B. Niederlander, and Owen B. Augspurger Awards.

All community members may nominate candidates. Nominations for the 2021 Red Jacket Awards are closed. Honorees will be announced this spring, along with details on the Red Jacket Award Ceremony.

The Red Jacket Award

Established in 1957, The Red Jacket Award is presented each year in recognition of quiet, continued, unbroken devotion to our civic progress and needs by one who, through such devotion, has thereby enlarge our awareness of our heritage in order that it may be built upon for the enrichment of our future.

The tradition of the History Museum’s Red Jacket Award is inspired by the imperative to continue acknowledging those who, with steady service, strive to support the connections in our region.

The Daniel B. Niederlander Award

The Daniel B. Niederlander Award, established in 1975, is named for a former President of the Buffalo History Museum. Mr. Niederlander (1895-1964) had a keen interest in history, witnessed by his restoration and operation of the Williamsville Water Mill. He was also active in the drive to save the 1833 Buffalo lighthouse. This award recognizes a local heritage organization for outstanding programming.

The Owen B. Augspurger Award

Established in 1974, the Augspurger Award honors the quiet and unassuming Owen B. Augspurger (1913-1969); an attorney, councilmember, dedicated civic leader, and former Buffalo History Museum Board President. This award is given to an individual for outstanding service to the cause of local history reflecting the passion exhibited by Mr. Augspurger.

Red Jacket Award Ceremony: Corporate Sponsorship Opportunities

Contact Megan Hahin, Development Officer, at (716) 873-9644 ext. 344 or at mhahin@buffalohistory.org for corporate sponsorship and program booklet advertising options.